Local Building Surveyors Logo - Find Local Chartered Surveyors

 

Reviews, reviews, reviews...

As you know we have two ways in which people can feedback their experiences with us - through Reviews.co.uk, and through reviews of individual surveyors on our site.

These are a highly valuable source of how people are seeing both our, and your, service. Most pleasing is that the overwhelming response is positive, with the average still mostly 4 stars.

BUT.. from time to time we see trends appearing in the negative reviews which we feel would be helpful to feed back.

Unresponsive surveyors

We know things are busy out there, because there seems to be plenty of business going begging! Amongst the most common reasons we see for a negative review is "Nobody answered my query" or "Nobody replied to my enquiry!" - so a top tip for converting leads into instructions would seem to be call people back when you get the lead!

And this extends beyond that first contact - another surprisingly common moan is surveyors 'going dark' either after receiving the instruction, or after carrying out the survey. These are the ones most likely to result in negative reviews posted on our site, or being 'named and shamed' on Reviews.co.uk.

Incorrect Pricing

This is another unpopular issue which comes up far too often. We've even had a couple of official complaints, including one who was intending to complain to the RICS about one offender and his response!

The high levels of activity in the market has presented the perfect opportunity to lift prices, which many of you have done, but PLEASE, REMEMBER TO UPDATE YOUR PRICES TO REFLECT YOUR ACTUAL FEES. To list fees lower than those that you are actually prepared to undertake is misleading to the public, and generates considerable ill-will. Again there is a high level of 'naming and shaming' reviews on this:

"one with an estimate of £190. Eventually charged £300+vat... Are estimates just a way to get to the front of the queue and then charge whatever they like?"

"l decided to use ****** whose quote was £361. When l e-mailed him the quote was raised to £420... This l found misleading... l gave your list a second chance using ****** whose quote was the same as advertised"

"Your service is fine but one of your surveyors ****** almost doubled the estimate for no additional services, whereas another ****** quote stuck to his estimate. ****** should be censured for estimating £446 inc vat and then quoting £780!!! He was unrepentant when I challenged him".

"I received a list of 3 quotes for local surveyors for my HomeBuyer survey. The 1st said that the quote was wrong and it would cost me another £100 according to their scale -I declined. The 2nd said it could only do it after 3 weeks and that the price wasn’t from their website, so they’d send me a new quote -I declined. Luckily the 3rd, agreed with the quoted price and conducted the survey within 3 days!"

Keeping advertised fees up to the real level also helps avoid downward pricing pressure, and will help maintain fees at sustainable levels for when things inevitably slow down again.

So please update your prices to keep them in line with what you actually charge! And as always, if you need help with that, please just ask us...

 

10 Years LogoRICS Tech Affiliate Logo

Also proudly powering the surveyor search on...

Thatch Advice Centre  The Moving Centre  Mortgage Squared

User feedback for our Find a Surveyor service

4.01 Average

2676 Reviews

Anonymous

It worked well, but in the end I decided it was too expensive for me

Posted 1 day ago

Anonymous

Works very well, received several quotes thanks to the service

Posted 2 days ago

Anonymous

A most efficient service

Posted 2 days ago

Anonymous

Managed to get comparible quotes which speeded things up

Posted 3 days ago

Anonymous

Help me a lot to find my ideal local building surveyors,highly recommend

Posted 1 week ago

Anonymous

Very easy to use and very prompt responses from a good number of surveyors, followed up by emails and some phone calls

Posted 1 week ago

Anonymous

Very fast informed response, with prices ser out clearly. Fast service when contacted.

Posted 1 week ago

Anonymous

Quick to respond and took time to explain findings before sending full written report. Will definitely recommend Graham Gibbs Associates to friends.

Posted 1 week ago

Anonymous

This proved a helpful facility. We very quickly received several quotes from local surveyors, one of which we followed up successfully.

Posted 1 week ago

Anonymous

I was put in touch with a number of local surveyors from this site (as the name suggests!) but the service from Matthew at Acorn Technical Associates has been exceptional. I have bought many properties in the past and this was by far the most comprehensive survey I have seen, which really help me to make the right decision with regards a prospective purchase and reduction in price.

Posted 1 week ago

Anonymous

The Local Building Surveyors service was very good indeed. My surveyor, A J Walton and his team were extremely effective and I would recomemmend them highly.

Posted 1 week ago

Anonymous

Emailed confirming when they would be visiting the property, also had a phonecall on the morning to see if we had an concerns with the property. Our surveyor rang back the same day to discuss finding- Stuart was HONEST and professional! Highly recommend!

Posted 1 week ago

Anonymous

Knowledgeable and competent

Posted 1 week ago

Anonymous

Satisfactory

Posted 1 week ago

Anonymous

I as a chartered, surveyor have been contacted on several occasions by clients using your site and it works a dream. It is very very clear and contains everything needed. Thank you, Kevin

Posted 2 weeks ago

Anonymous

System worked well for me and I found a good surveyor

Posted 2 weeks ago

Anonymous

very good and fast service

Posted 2 weeks ago

Anonymous

The surveyor I engaged was courteous and provided a comprehensive report within the time scale promised.

Posted 2 weeks ago

Anonymous

The service I received after an enquriy was very good. However, it was all taken out of my hands when the solicitor took it over, so that I wasn't able to continue.

Posted 2 weeks ago

Anonymous

Very helpful for finding the right person at competitive prices

Posted 2 weeks ago

Anonymous

A very thorough survey. Pointing out things that will need to be done Would recommend.

Posted 2 weeks ago

What is the RICS?

RICS - London

The Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors is the organisation responsible for the training and regulation of Chartered Surveyors. To be listed on Local Building Surveyors, surveyors must be either a RICS Member (AssocRICS, MRICS/FRICS) or a Firm Regulated by the RICS, so you can be assured that your survey will be carried out by a qualified regulated professional.

Find out more about the RICS

What type of survey do I need?

Find out more about the different RICS Surveys

There are three standard RICS Survey Levels. Check out the links below to find out more:

RICS Level 1 Condition Report

RICS Level 2 HomeBuyer Report

RICS Level 3 Building Survey


Find more moving professionals!

Moving home? Need a mortgage advisor? Need a Conveyancer?

Save time, find a local mortgage advisor, get quotes for conveyancing and more from reputable companies in your area. Our search and quote service is quick, easy-to-use, and FREE!

Secure Site

Secure Site - PadlockThis site is secured by SSL (https) so you can be sure your information is secure and cannot be intercepted. Click the padlock in your browser address bar for the certificate details. 

Surveyor Signup

If you are a RICS Chartered Surveyor and want to sign up, click here to find out more and sign up.

Become a Partner

Do you want to add value to your property website by adding our find-a-surveyor search facility to your site? Click here for more information...